New Music CDs

Sharon Van Etten writes with emotional honesty and vulnerability, creating a bond with listeners that few musicians can match. Her latest is a self-produced album of exceptional intimacy, sublime generosity, and immense breadth.

The first new Phoenix album from the Grammy Award-winning group in four years. It is not a political or financial statement. It does not offer solutions to the world's great problems or suggest excitement over insolvency. It sounds almost nothing like old Phoenix albums. It was made by the same people who made those albums, but they may not be playing the same instruments

Bellini's opera is considered one of the first Italian romantic operas as well as containing the first full-scale mad scene. The Orchestra and Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin is led by Marcello Viotti. Baritone Alfredo Frontali and soprano Lucia Aliberti headline the cast of singers.

London's White Lies follow up their first two critically acclaimed releases with their third album, which includes the single There Goes Our Love Again. This time the band worked with producer Ed Buller, whose credits include albums from Pulp and Spiritualized.

Laying the foundation for the cool jazz style, this album has an intimate and elegant feel with tracks like Jeru; Venus de Milo; and Boplicity.

Rise Against casts their relationship with their own music and social struggle in a stark new light on a highly anticipated and sonically searing new album. Includes the single I Don't Want to Be Here Anymore.

The music heard here contains large sections of blues, jazz, a 'Tibetan' chant, a Bach chorale and even a ukulele number! A variety of fine musicians brings these works back to life.

The award-winning Crabb Family quickly ascended to the top of the southern gospel radio charts and remained there for over a decade as their familyharmonies and energetic performances captured the hearts of audiences nationwide. They became known for sharing honest messages of faith andhumility with a musical approach and enthusiasm that brought together several generations of gospel music lovers. The collection features both foot-stompin' favorites and heart-stirring ballads.

Pablo Heras-Casado, 'one of the most exciting conductors of his generation' (Die Welt), makes his Archiv Produktion debut performing instrumental andvocal music associated with Farinelli, the legendary 18th-century castrato who served as impresario and court musician to the kings of Spain.

Once again alternative rock trio Seether has joined forces with producer Brendan O'Brien, who has also worked with Bruce Springsteen and Pearl Jam, to deliver the most poignant, passionate, and powerful album of their career.

Hailed by Rolling Stone as 'best indie-rock record of the year', Bright Eyes adds horns, strings, and more to his already eclectic folk-pop sound. His 2002 album also garnered him comparisons to Bob Dylan and Neil Young.

From 1995 on, each time Cesaria Evora went into the studio, her producer Jose da Silva requested that she record more tracks than were actually needed for the new album. The aim was to choose a set of songs that fitted together naturally, forming a record that would delight listeners from start to finish. Now, a year and a half after her death, Lusafrica's offers thirteen previously unreleased tracks, spanning the period from the recording sessions for Cabo Verde in 1997 to Rogamar in 2005.

Cantus Colln performs a rare Italian Baroque gem alongside Konrad Junghanel.

For their sophomore album, Fitz & the Tantrums add onto their signature classic soul-influenced sound by incorporating elements of new wave and dance pop. Included are the singles Out of My League and The Walker.

On The Way To Bethlehem features holiday music of Medieval pilgrims during the Middle Ages. Music is performed by Ensemble Oni Wytars and Ensemble Unicorn.

Features four arias for obligato salterio.

Orchestre de Chambre de Paris are now under the musical direction of violinist and conductor Thomas Zehetmair. The debut recording of their collaboration is a luminous program dedicated to two giants of French music, Maurice Ravel and Claude Debussy. Thomas Zehetmair, renowned for his amazing discography on ECM as violinist and leader of the Zehetmair Quartet, records Ravel's famous Tzigane for the first time.

Featuring some of the world's best soloists and early music performers, this joyous holiday album captures the excitement and splendor of Galicia, an area of Spain with deep Celtic roots.

An astounding compilation of the breakneck Shangaan dance output of the Nozinja studio in Soweto, an urban area in the city of Johannesburg in Gauteng, South Africa, recorded between 2006 and 2009. Hyper-local music, all of it still considered traditional, all of it marketed through Shangaan radio and newspapers to a relatively small set of people who live between Johannesburg, Limpopo, and Mozambique.

Amelia Meath's powerful vocals combine with Nick Sanborn's genre-destroying bass to create intricate, pulsing grooves. Their debut as a duo is a collection of vivid songs concerning suffering and love, darkness and deliverance.

Swans continue their path of musical experimentation with the release of their thirteenth studio album, which includes the songs Some Things We Do; Oxygen; and Screen Shot. It also features vocals from St. Vincent on several tracks.

Gotterdammerung, aka Twilight of the Gods, is the most famous, most performed, most thrilling, and most recorded opera cycle in music history. The award-winning, ground-breaking production has been seen by over 150,000 people at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. The Wagner Ring Collection features the stars of this production, and some of the most remarkable and memorable music of all time, including 'The Ride of the Valkyries' and Siegfried's 'Funeral March'.

Singer-songwriter Conor Oberst delivers a study in contrasts, a glance up to the heavens and a glimpse into the abyss. It stands in a deliberate contrast to the harder-edged material on the Bright Eyes release The People's Key.

The personal turmoil in John Lennon's life serves as inspiration for his 1974 album, which includes the hit Whatever Gets You Through the Night.

Olivia Newton-John leads this box-office hit and it's soundtrack with a little help from the Electric Light Orchestra.

Yentl, which won an Academy Award for Best Original Song Score, includes tracks Papa Can You Hear Me; A Piece of Sky; and The Way He Makes Me Feel.

Fun and educational Spanish language album, teaching kids about colors (Baile de Colores), parts of the body (Baile de Colores), animals (Animales), manners (A Portarnos Bien), and more!

Rare Irish lullabies and sleep songs from fourteenth century to the present day. Fusion between traditional Irish, early music, contemporary and world music creates a fresh new musical experience.

The first album by Bash the Trash features songs and music written during 25 years of non-stop performing. Spanning genres as well as generations, BTT's music has been experienced and loved by children and adults in venues around the United States and the world. The instruments are built from ordinary stuff that would normally be thrown away, but they sound amazing - sometimes like real instruments, sometimes like nothing else on Earth.

Global superstar Thalía releases her first ever children's record, which is created especially for energetic kids who are ready to jump, sing, smile, and play. Each song takes listeners to magical places filled with whimsical characters.

Don Jordan, founder and Artistic Director has performed as a mime and clown throughout Europe and the U.S., has appeared on Broadway with Mummenschanz, and served as Artistic Director of San Francisco’s Pickle Family Circus. He has taught at the Juilliard School, The Instituto De Teatro in Barcelona, Teatro Studio in Rome, Ohio University, Shakespeare and Company and currently teaches at Smith College.

The eleventh album from Recess Monkey features fifteen eclectic songs about creativity, inventions, machines, and more. Each track is inspired by those who take on a do-it-yourself approach.