New Music CDs

The debut full length album by Algiers is haunted by promises of the past: the rapturous call and response of millenarian gospel, the bellowing urgency of 1960s protest soul, the scene-searching intensity of DC hardcore and the smeared viscosity of post-punk and no wave.

After fourteen years, R&B star D'Angelo is back with a highly anticipated new album, which includes the single Sugah Daddy as well as the tracks The Charade; Another Life; and Betray My Heart.

With the release of a fourth LP, Son Lux expands from being a solo artist to a trio. Here they meticulously weave together dizzying percussion, fraying guitar, and haunting vocals into a quaking and vivid post-pop burst.

After eight years, Hilary Duff makes her highly anticipated return to music with a new album that includes the single Sparks. Included are collaborations with groundbreaking songwriters and producers including Tove Lo and Ed Sheeran.

Duke Ellington's musical works are seemingly well documented; the likelihood of finding a good, unreleased Duke Ellington recording is slight at best. The music of Duke Ellington is to jazz what Bach's oeuvre is to classical music.

The word opera conjures up images of large casts, a huge orchestra and chorus and massive logistical issues. This opera, however, stands apart with its utilization of five solo singers and a 1950s modern jazz quintet.

Three years after releasing The Lion The Beast The Beat with the Nocturnals, Grace Potter is back with a new solo album. Her latest includes the single Alive Tonight as well as the track Look What We've Become..

"...feels rightfully nostalgic, at other moments profoundly contemporary..." - NPR Music

Grammy Award winner Ne-Yo returns with his sixth studio album. Along with the single She Knows, it includes guest appearances from Pitbull, Schoolboy Q, T.I., and Jeezy.

The new album from Portland, Oregon's Y La Bamba, finds lead songstress Luzelena Mendoza at her most captivating. These six songs of mexi-influenced folk Americana pick up where 2012s Court The Storm; left off. In a sultry cross genre dream accented by lush guitars, lively accordion and expert percussion, Oh February; features Y La Bamba's most listenable songs to date.

Singer-songwriter Kacey Musgraves follows up the Grammy Award winning debut album, Same Trailer Different Park, with her highly anticipated sophomore release. Among the tracks is the new single Biscuits.

The soundtrack to one of the most anticipated summer films of 2015 includes music from a wide variety of artists including Grouplove, Haim, Twin Shadow, Vampire Weekend, and Vance Joy.

Kurt Elling's most worldly album to date, as he casts his net far and wide, from Brazil to Ireland, Germany to Spain, Scotland to Cuba to Iceland. And it is indeed all about passions, the forces that shake our souls. The result is an album vibrant with diversity and variety, and at the same time a single-minded celebration of what makes us all human. In terms of its conceptual scope and its breadth of influences, this is the most ambitious project yet from the preeminent jazz male vocalist.

Equal parts activist, educator, songwriter, performer, and visual artist, Buffy Sainte-Marie is an untiring champion for indigenous people and the environment through her music, art, education projects, and by taking direct political action.

Four years after the release of Love Me Back, Grammy Nominated singer-songwriter Jazmine Sullivan is back with her third studio album. The CD's first single, Dumb, includes an appearance from hip-hop star Meek Mill.

Heartless Bastards' fifth studio album, and follow-up to their breakthrough album Arrow, sees the band exploring as-yet-unvisited avenues of sound and sensation. They continue to boldly push the unique brand of rock n' roll into every song.

Singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett has won over critics and audiences with the release of her full-length debut. Her 2015 promises to be a full one with performances at Bonnaroo, Sasquatch, and the Pitchfork Music Festival.

A late-night masterpiece, haunting and wise and entirely reflective of the persona of this mysteriously brilliant American treasure.

Chris Stapleton has already written chart-topping hits for artists including Luke Bryan. Now he makes his debut as a solo artist with his first full-length album. The title track has been featured on NPR as a Songs We Love selection.

Wonderful compositions, great arrangements, beautiful interplaying and dynamics.

Wilco commemorates twenty years in music with a two-disc set featuring their most essential tracks from their eight studio albums as well as Mermaid Avenue, their collaboration with Billy Bragg.

Earthworm Ensemble combines a family-friendly mix of country, folk, and rock with sophisticated songs about dinosaurs, backyard gardening, recycling, and never giving up.

Exhaustively field tested to verify their connection with the preschool and elementary set, this collection of songs delivers fun music for kids of all ages. It may not get them to eat their vegetables, but it will get them up and moving.

On his second children's album, Henri Godon presents a collection of songs that are unique, full of catchy melodies, and sure to delight both children and adults alike.

Get ready to get up and move with a collection of fun songs that encourage plenty of activity while celebrating a diverse array of cultures from all around the world.

This collection of stories by Kathy Hunter will keep kids quiet in the car and put them to bed at night. Parents will grow so tired of hearing the same story they will buy children headphones.