Additions and Subdivisions
Map of Dog Town
Dog Town
Dog Town
Dog Town
Dog Town (sometimes spelled Dogtown) appears to have been a term used to denote part of South Martineztown, perhaps due to a farmer named John Grogan who raised hogs in the area and had many dogs for protection.
Newspapers of the early twentieth century make reference to "the northwest part of the city, commonly known as Dog Town," "Dog Town north of the Albuquerque city limits," and "Dog Town in the North Highlands." (It may have also been called Pigeon Town and become known as Las Palomitas after 1930.) Mentions often take a disparaging tone. In the Police Court roster for July 14,1902 in the Albuquerque Daily Citizen, "Dog Town was represented today, as it usually is after a wet Sunday," while the police roster of September 29,1902 finds that "Dog Town, with all their numerous troubles, failed to occupy their prominent place in police court as is their usual custom."
It appears to be an area known for fights, gang arrests, residences of "women of the half world," and disturbances of the peace, based on newspaper articles found. However, by August 20,1925, the Albuquerque Morning Journal asserted that "it has often called Dog Town, but not by its residents" and speculated that "Some people say the name came from a contraction of Adobe Town and others say it was due to the fact that several years ago every family there had from one to six dogs." Searches for information about Dog Town have proved difficult, but those interested in researching the area might consult the titles listed below.
History of Dog Town
History of Dog Town
Zone Atlas: J14
Historic Albuquerque Today calls it "a strangely neutral, out-of-place strip of territory" between Huning Highlands, a "Midwestern Victorian suburb," and Santa Barbara-Martineztown, a "small town within the city that looks like many of the small towns of northern New Mexico." Dog Town was actively used as a name for the area between what is now Martin Luther King Avenue to the south, Lomas Boulevard to the north, Broadway Boulevard to the west and I25 to the east in the early 1900s; now it is a typically suburban area and part of the Martineztown community.
Sources
General Sources
Books and Internet Links
- Bernalillo County Abstract and Title CollectionAbstracts of Title, Warranty Deeds, and other documents that are part of this archival collection.
- Bernalillo County Public Document Search
This link opens in a new window
The Eagle Web Document Search Program allows an online search for any public document which has been recorded in the County Clerk's Office. This includes deeds, mortgages, judgements, liens, etc. - Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District
- This link opens in a new window
The establishment of the Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District had and continues to have an important effect on how Albuquerque developed along the Rio Grande.
- Zone Atlas, City of Albuquerque, 1963 - byPublication Date: Varies
- Zone Atlas, Bernalillo County, 1982 - byPublication Date: Varies
Databases
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
The Digital Sanborn Maps collection is a browsable set of thousands of digitized images of the 1867–1970 Sanborn maps for cities and towns in New Mexico.
The maps contain information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. - Newspaper Archive Library Edition - New Mexico This link opens in a new window
NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition is an online database that provides searchable access to New Mexico newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The collection contains over 128 different newspapers from across New Mexico. The archives cover New Mexico history from 1847-2019 and allow you to further understand an ancestor's place within their local community to research your genealogy. Start your New Mexico ancestry search now and discover more about your ancestor's stories!
