- the Public Library
- LibGuides
- Subject Guides - 25/50/25
- Additions and Subdivisions
- 1940-1949: a Self-guided Tour
Additions and Subdivisions
Standard Sources
Standard Sources
Albuquerque by Publication Date: 1982New Mexico’s biggest metro area deserves a book all its own. And what a book it is! Simmons gives a rich, detailed, and colorful history of the area from its beginnings in Old Town, the emergence of New Town, to the rise of the military bases.- Albuquerque : 100 Years in Pictures byPublication Date: 1975In 1975, retired New Mexico Magazine editor George Fitzpatrick and photo illustrator Harvey Caplin collaborated on a beautiful photo review of Albuquerque's history.
- Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA, Resources and Reseach CollectionsPublication Date: 2006Jan Dodson Barnhart's update to Albuquerque Bibliography: a Guide to Published and Archival Materials.
- Albuquerque Progress byPublication Date: 1934-1965Published by Albuquerque National Bank from 1934 through 1964, Albuquerque Progress chronicles Albuquerque's growth and development and includes black and white photos of residential, commercial, and community buildings.
Albuquerque Remembered by Publication Date: 2006An informative and entertaining history of 'The Duke City'. Under the flags of Spain, Mexico, the United States, and for a brief period, the Confederate States, Albuquerque grew from a small farm and ranch village in the northern reaches of New Spain to the thirty-fifth largest city in the United States. Howard Bryan devotes special attention to some of the colourful characters who have populated the city's history, and also includes business and civic leaders who helped shape the city's growth and character. Humorous episodes and anecdotes, as related in early newspapers, are scattered throughout the text to balance some of the dramatic and often violent events that occurred in Albuquerque over the years.
Albuquerque Then and Now by Publication Date: 2006Side-by-side then-and-now photographs showcase landmarks like Kistler's department store (now demolished), the Old Bernalillo County Courthouse (rumored to be haunted), and the beautiful California Mission-style Alvarado Hotel, considered the finest railroad hotel of its time. From Old Town across the tracks to New Town, you'll discover a thriving, modern city filled with remarkable architecture and culture.
Atrisco to Zena Lona: a Snappy Survey of Selected Albuquerque Street Names by Publication Date: 2012A recent update of Judy Nickell's essential reference guide to how Albuquerque streets got their names.- Historic Albuquerque Today: an Overview Survey of Historic Buildings and Districts byPublication Date: 1978A compilation of the work of the Historic Landmark Survey in Albuquerque from 1975-1978. Includes overview histories as well as illustrations and brief descriptions of residential, public, and commercial buildings.
Albuquerque: a city at the end of the world by ISBN: 0826330975Publication Date: 2003-04-18This impassioned book, both a loving description and a critique, defines urban values in a milieu that is rarely recognised as a city. Updated over ten years after its initial publication, it is more relevant than ever to Albuquerque's future. A new chapter describes Albuquerque's recent development, placing it in the context of urban growth in the West.
A Brief Chronology: 1940-1949
|
1940 |
Population 35,449 (New Town only) |
|
1940 |
Sandia Ranch Sanatorium founded |
|
1940 |
U.S. Army Air Corps designates Albuquerque as a service station for military aircraft |
|
1941 |
Rio Grande floods |
|
1941 |
Construction begins on Albuquerque Army Air Base |
|
1941/1942 |
Air Depot Training Station established |
|
1942 |
Albuquerque Air Depot Training School established on Oxnard Field [Sandia Base] |
|
1942 |
Albuquerque Army Air Base renamed Kirtland Field |
|
1944 |
Albuquerque Air Depot Training School converted to Army Air Forces Convalescent Center |
|
1945 |
David Greenglass passes atomic secrets to Harold Gold at 209 High Street NE |
|
1945 |
Ernie Pyle killed by sniper fire on Ie Shima August 18th; Jerry Pyle dies November 24th. |
|
1945/1946 |
Z-Division moves projects, apparatus and personnel from Los Alamos to Sandia Base |
|
1946 |
Albuquerque Gas & Electric merges with four subsidiaries and becomes Public Service Company of New Mexico |
|
1947 |
Nob Hill Business Center opens as Albuquerque’s first shopping center |
|
1947 |
Lovelace Foundation for Medical Education & Research opens |
|
1948 |
Highland High School built as Albuquerque’s second public high school |
|
1948 |
Ernie Pyle Library opens |
|
1948 |
Public Service Company of New Mexico becomes an independent operating utility. |
|
1948 |
KOB-TV, Albuquerque’s first TV station, goes on the air |
|
1949 |
Western Electric Company [AT&T's manufacturing division] assumes operation of Sandia Laboratory and establishes Sandia Corporation |
|
1949 |
Southern Union Gas Company buys natural gas distribution system from Public Service Company of New Mexico |
|
1949 |
First modern traffic survey of the city is inaugurated |
|
1949 |
Old Town annexed to New Town in anticipation of 1950 census |
Albuquerque Newspapers
Albuquerque Newspapers
- NewspaperARCHIVE
NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition is an online database that provides searchable access to New Mexico newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The collection contains over 128 different newspapers from across New Mexico. The archives cover New Mexico history from 1847-2019 and allow you to further understand an ancestor's place within their local community to research your genealogy. Start your New Mexico ancestry search now and discover more about your ancestor's stories!
Recommended Resources
1940-1949
- Albuquerque City Manager Scrapbooks byPublication Date: 1946-1949Scrapbooks cover March 1946-Sept. 1947, June 1948-Aug. 1949 and may be considered filling in some gaps for the Albuquerque, N.M. City Clerk scrapbooks. Preservation and photocopy reproductions of the C.E. Wells scrapbooks that were made possible by a grant awarded by the New Mexico Historical Records Advisory Board and by the support of the University Libraries, Center for Southwest Research, and Center for Regional Studies, Friends of the University of New Mexico Libraries, Inc., and the Albuquerque Historical Society. Permission to photocopy was granted by the Albuquerque Journal and Albuquerque Tribune.
- Albuquerque Progress byPublication Date: 1934-1965Published by Albuquerque National Bank from 1934 through 1964, Albuquerque Progress chronicles Albuquerque's growth and development and includes black and white photos of residential, commercial, and community buildings.
- Balloons to Bombers: Aviation in Albuquerque, 1882-1945 byPublication Date: 1987Covers Albuquerque's aviation scene from balloonists and barnstormers at the Territorial Fairs through World War II bombardment squadrons.
- History of the Albuquerque Airport, 1928 to 1942 byPublication Date: 1965Chronicles the development of the Albuquerque Airport from its inception to its purchase by the U.S. government to create an Air Depot and Training Command post.
- Making the Most of It : Public Works in Albuquerque During the Great Depression, 1929-1942 byPublication Date: 1986Roosevelt Park, Conservancy (Tingley) Beach, Jefferson Junior High -- these are just three buildings Albuquerque owes to the WPA. Biebel chronicles how the Great Depression changed the face of Albuquerque.
- The Newcomer Book: Photographic Guide Book to Albuquerque for the NewcomerPublication Date: 1944
- Sandia National Laboratories byPublication Date: 1990
- Why Albuquerque? byPublication Date: 1942Originally published in New Mexico Magazine's January 1942 issue. Pyle explains why, after years of roving reporting, he and his wife Jerry settled on Albuquerque as their permanent home.
- Wings over AmericaPublication Date: 1943Includes a brief history of the Army Air Forces, as well as the Air Depot Training Station, Albuquerque, New Mexico, and individual sections with photographs of officers, enlisted personnel, and air field personnel.
