New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

New Mexico Book Awards - 2013

Best Anthology (individual or collection)

Best Anthropology / Archaeology book

  • Hisat'sinom - Christian Downum
  • An Archaeology of Doings - Severin Fowles

 Best Arts book (includes Art, Music, or Photography)

Best Biography - New Mexico subject

  • Ernest L. Blumenschein - Robert Larson and Carole Larson

Best Biography - other

  • Mystic Chemist - Robert Larson and Carole Larson

Best Business book (includes Career)

  • Beans of Wisdom - Joe Swinger

Best Children's Activity book (workbook / craft book / coloring book)

  • Arizona Color Me Wacky! - Conrad Storad and Lynda Exley

Best Children's Picture book

  • The Moon Saw it All - Nancy Young

Best Children's Picture/Activity book, Bilingual

Best Cover Design, large (larger than 6x9)

Best Cover Design, small (6x9 or smaller)

  • Voices of New Mexico, Too - Paul Rhetts and Barbe Awalt

Best Crafts / Hobby / How-to

  • An Introduction to Hunting Arizona's Small Game - Randall Babb

Best Fiction book, Adventure / Drama

Best Fiction book, Historical

  • Return of the Bones - Belinda Vasquez Garcia

Best Fiction book, Mystery / Suspense

  • The Lone Wolf Agenda - Joseph Badal

Best Fiction book, Romance

Best Fiction book, Science Fiction / Fantasy

  • On Stranger Winds - Robert Aaron Wiley

Best Fiction book, Other

Best First book (first book published by author)

  • Guardian Angel - William Sine

Best Gardening book

  • A Place All Our Own - Mary Irish

Best Gay / Lesbian (GLBT) book

  • Licking the Spoon - Candace Walsh

Best Health book (includes Wellness, Nutrition, Beauty)

  • Breaking Eggs - Lucia Amsden

Best History book, New Mexico subject

Best History book, Other

  • I Fought a Good Fight - Sherry Robinson

Best Juvenile book (grade school to junior high school)

Best Multi-Cultural Subject book (Hispanic, Native American, etc.)

  • Jeffrey Lunges: Visions of the Southwest - Kelley Hays-Gilpin and Dennis Gilpin

Best Nature / Environment book

  • Continental Divide - Krista Schlyer

Best New Age book

  • Mary Magdalene Beckons - Mercedes Kirkel

Best New Mexico book

Best Nonfiction book, Other

  • Boom, Bust, Boom - Bill Carter

Best of Show

Best Pets / Animals book

  • Terrie Q and Travelin' Jack's Pet Friends - Terrie Q. Sayre and Travelin' Jack

Best Philosophy book

  • From Fear to Love - Harry Willson

Best Poetry book (individual or collection)

  • On the Back Porch of the Moon - Jane Lipman

Best Political book (includes Social / Current Events)

Best Reference book

Best Religious book

Best Science book (includes Mathematics)

Best Self-help book (includes Spirituality / Inspirational)

  • What Lasts is the Breath - Janet Eigner

Best Sports / Recreation book

  • Duke City Diamonds - Gary Herron

Best Travel book (includes guides)

  • Tony Hillerman's Landscapes: Southwest Guide & Map - Anney Hillerman and Don Strel

Best Young Adult book (high school)

  • Football - Jennifer McKerley

Best Young Reader book (to grade 3)

  • Your Circulatory System - Conrad Storad

Tony Hillerman Award for Best Fiction

  • A Growing Season - Sue Boggio and Mare Pearl
  • Bone Horses - Lesley Poling-Kempes

Suggest a Purchase

Books are linked to the library catalog. Unlinked books are not available from the Public Library. You may suggest the purchase of materials at any time.

Customer input is highly valued, and taken into consideration when purchasing decisions are made.

Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved. Report a problem.