New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Best Anthology (individual or collection)

• The Essays - Rudolfo Anaya

Best Anthropology / Archaeology book

• A History of the Ancient Southwest - Stephen Lekson
• Geology of Northern New Mexico's Parks - L. Greer Price

 Best Arts book (includes Art, Music, or Photography)

• The Santa Fe House: historic residences, enchanting adobes, and romantic revivals - Margaret Moore Booker

Best Biography (includes Memoirs and Autobiographies)

• Pulitzer : a life in politics, print, and power - James McGrath Morris

Best Business book (includes Career)

• There's No Crying in Business: how to succeed in male-dominated industries - Roxanne Rivera

Best Children's Activity book (workbook / craft book / coloring book)

• Dinosaur Learning Activity Book - Geoff Habiger

Best Children's Picture book

• Bad news for outlaws : the remarkable life of Bass Reeves, deputy U.S. marshall - Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie
• The Tale of the Pronghorned Cantaloupe - Sabra Brown Seinsiek, translation [into Spanish] and illustrations by Noel Chilton

Best Cookbook

• New Mexico Cuisine - Clyde Casey

Best Crafts / Hobby / How-to

• Feng shui quick guide : secrets for attracting wealth, harmony, and love -- for home and office - Carol Olmstead

Best Fiction book, Adventure / Drama

• The Ghost of Milagro Creek - Melanie Sumner

Best Fiction book, Historical

• The Sixth Surrender - Hana Samek Norton
• Sonora Wind Twilight - Florence Byham Weinberg

Best Fiction book, Mystery / Suspense

• The Pot Thief Who Studied Pythagoras - J. Michael Orenduff

Best Fiction book, Romance

• Timing is Everything - Sabra Brown Steinsiek

Best Fiction book, Science Fiction / Fantasy

• Venus Rain - Kirt Hickman

Best Fiction book, Other

• La Ranfla & other New Mexico Stories - Martha Egan

Best First book (first book published by author)

• Dance of the Eggshells = Baile de cascarones - Carla Aragón, illustrations by Kathy Dee Saville, Spanish translation by Socorro Aragón and George Gonzales
• Gila Country Legend: the life & times of Quentin Hulse - Nancy Coggeshall
• Trail Writer's Guide - Cinny Green & Maureen Burdock

Best Gardening book

• The complete chile pepper book : a gardener's guide to choosing, growing, preserving, and cooking - Dave DeWitt

Best Gay / Lesbian (GLBT) book

• My Invented Life - Lauren Bjorkman

Best Health book (includes Wellness, Nutrition, Beauty)

• Vital Yoga: A Sourcebook for Students & Teachers - Meta Chaya Hirschl

Best History book, New Mexico subject

• The Indians of Arizona & New Mexico - Don James & Karyth Becenti

Best Juvenile book (grade school to junior high school)

• The Knight in the Shadows - Chris Eboch

Best Multi-Cultural Subject book (Hispanic, Native American, etc.)

• One nation, one year : a Navajo photographer's 365-day journey into a world of discovery, life, and hope - photos by Don James ; text by Karyth Becenti ; additional editing by Lexi Petronis

Best New Age book

• Gifts from the Rainforest: medicine for healing the modern mind - Rheanni Lightwater

Best New Mexico book

• The Complete Chile Pepper Book: a gardener's guide to choosing, growing, preserving, and cooking - Dave DeWitt & Karyth Becenti
• One Nation, One Year: a Navajo photographer's 365-day journey into a world of discovery, life, and hope - photos by Don James, text by Karyth Becenti, additional editing by Lexi Petronis

Best Nonfiction, Other

• Santa Fe Tales and More - Howard Bryan

Best of Show book

• Pulitzer: A Life in Politics, Print & Power - James McGrath Morris

Best Poetry book (individual or collection)

• But Who's Counting? - Zelda Leah Gatuskin
• Sky Land: A Southwestern Cycle - Michael Johnson
• Splitting Hard Ground - Marilyn Stablein

Best Political book (includes Social / Current Events)

• Not just New Mexico's Senator: Senator Pete V. Domenici's leadership on four issues affecting our nation's future - Martin Janowksi

Best Reference book

• Anarchist Periodicals in English - Ernesto Longa

Best Religious book

• The hidden power of the Gospels: four questions, four paths, one journey - Alexander Shaia

Best Self-help book (includes Spirituality / Inspirational)

• Revising Fiction: making sense of the madness - Kirt Hickman

Best Travel book (includes guides)

• New Mexico: A guide for the eyes - Elisa Parhad

Best Young Reader book (to grade 3)

• Shoes for the Santo Niño [Spanish language] = Zapitillos para el Santo Niño : a bilingual tale - Peggy Pond Church, illustrated by Charlie M. Carrillo
• Amazing Armadillos - Jennifer Guess Mckerley, illustrated by Paul Mirocha

Books are linked to the library catalog. Unlinked books are not available from the Public Library. You may suggest the purchase of materials at any time.

Customer input is highly valued, and taken into consideration when purchasing decisions are made.