New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Winners of the New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards, by year and by category, with links to items in the ABC Library collection

The New Mexico Book Awards

New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Annual awards presented by the New Mexico Book Co-op to recognize the best works from New Mexico and Arizona.

A wide range of publishers, bookstores, businesses, organizations, and individuals sponsor the Awards, including the:

  • Albuquerque / Bernalillo County Library 
  • Friends for the Library
  • CNM Libraries
  • Santa Fe Public Library
  • New Mexico Library Foundation
  • New Mexico State Library

See the winners by using the navigation to the left.


  • Categories have been added, combined, or divided over the history of the Awards
  • In some years there may be no award granted in a category
  • More than one title may be awarded within a category for that year

Any book by an author or publisher in Arizona or New Mexico is eligible as well as any book about Arizona or New Mexico; any book may be entered in more than one category. Books that have won in a category in a previous New Mexico Book Award Program are not eligible for re-submission.