New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Best Anthology (individual or collection)

• Peace Beyond All Fear: A Tribute to John Denver's Vision - Hank Bruce

Best Anthropology / Archaeology book

• Chaco Astronomy: an ancient American cosmology - Anna Sofaer and contributors to The Solstice Project

 Best Arts book (includes Art, Music, or Photography)

• Southwestern Indian Jewelry - Dexter Cirillo
• Talking with the Clay: the art of Pueblo pottery - Stephen Trimble

Best Biography (includes Memoirs and Autobiographies)

• Into the devil's den : how an FBI informant got inside the Aryan Nations and a special agent got him out alive - Dave Hall & Tim Burkey

Best Business book (includes Career)

• The Keyword Tutorial eBook - Hope Kiah

Best Children's Activity book (workbook / craft book / coloring book)

• New Mexico A to Z - Jill Lane
• READiscover New Mexico: a tri-lingual adventure in literacy - Kathy Barco

Best Children's Picture book

• Red Truck - Kersten Hamilton, illustrated by Valeria Petrone

Best Cookbook

• Cuisines of the Southwest - Dave DeWitt
• Red or Green: New Mexico cuisine - Clyde Casey

Best Fiction book, Adventure / Drama

• Avenging Victorio: a novel of the Apache insurgency in New Mexico, 1881 - Dave DeWitt

Best Fiction book, Historical

• Arizona War - Melody Groves
• Bell County Bushwhackers - Dave Bushmire

Best Fiction book, Mystery / Suspense

• Turquoise Girl - Aimee & David Thurlo

Best Fiction book, Romance

• Annie's Song - Sabra Brown Steinsiek

Best Fiction book, Science Fiction / Fantasy

• The MoonQuest: a true fantasy - Mark David Gerson

Best Fiction book, Other

• The Pageant Unveiled: called to serve her God, tempted to follow her passion - Lucretia Tippit

Best First book (first book published by author)

• Our Favorite Recipes: tried and true recipes from the first four years of Albuquerque The Magazine - Albuquerque The Magazine
• The Road from La Cueva - Sheila Ortego

Best Gardening book

• Ma Frump's Guide to Plastic Gardening - Marcia Muth

Best Health book (includes Wellness, Nutrition, Beauty)

• Working Like Dogs: the Service Dog Guidebook - Marcie Davis & Melissa Bunnell

Best History book, New Mexico subject

•  A Peculiar Alchemy : a centennial history of the School of American Research, 1907-2007 - Nancy Owen Lewis and Kay Leigh Hagan

Best Juvenile book (grade school to junior high school)

• From Slave to Superstar of the Wild West - Tom DeMund

Best Multi-Cultural Subject book (Hispanic, Native American, etc.)

• Patterns of Exchange: Navajo weavers and traders - Teresa J. Wilkins

Best Nature / Environment book

• Bearing witness: 25 years of refuge - Lou Liberty, poetry & prose ; Margy O'Brien, art

Best New Age book

• Soul Oriented Solutions - Rheanni Lightwater

Best Nonfiction book, other

• New Mexico, a Biographical Dictionary Volume 2 - Don Bullis

Best of Show book

• Into the Devil's Den: how an FBI informant got inside the Aryan Nations and a special agent got him out alive - Dave Hall and Tym Burkey, with Katherine M. Ramsland

Best Parenting / Family Issues book

• Syra's Scribbles - Syra Divine

Best Poetry book (individual or collection)

• Graven Images - Mike Sutin
• The Seasons of Yes - Lorraine Schechter

Best Political book (includes Social / Current Events)

• Your Money and Your Life - Martha Burk

Best Reference book

• Decoding design: understanding and using symbols in visual communication : discover the hidden meanings inside common corporate logos and designs - Maggie MacNab

Best Religious book

• Saints of the Pueblos - Charles M. Carrillo

Best Self-help book (includes Spirituality / Inspirational)

• Dying: A Natural Passage - Denys Cope

Best Travel book (includes guides)

• Backroads & byways of New Mexico: drives, day trips & weekend excursions - Sally Moore

Best Young Adult book (high school)

• Lawn Boy - Gary Paulsen

Best Young Reader book (to grade 3)

• Loco Dog and the Dust Devil in the Railyard - Marcy Heller, illustrated by Nancy Poes

People's Choice Award

• The Milagro Beanfield War - John Nichols

Books are linked to the library catalog. Unlinked books are not available from the Public Library. You may suggest the purchase of materials at any time.

Customer input is highly valued, and taken into consideration when purchasing decisions are made.