New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Best Anthology (individual or collection)

• Live Poets' Society Vol III - Robert Rhodes

Best Arts book (includes Art, Music, or Photography)

• Lasting Light: 125 years of Grand Canyon photography - Stephen Trimble

Best Biography (includes Memoirs and Autobiographies)

• Hold My Hand - Glenys Carl

Best Book on the Southwest

• Western Traditions: contemporary artists of the American West - Michael Duty, Suzanne Deats

Best Business book (includes Career)

• Web Marketing For Dummies - Jan Zimmerman

Best Children's Picture book

• Playing Loteria - Rene Colato Lainez, illustrated by Jill Arena

Best Cookbook

• Seasonal Southwest Cooking: contemporary recipes & menus for every occasion - Barbara Pool Fenzl

Best Fiction book, Adventure / Drama

• Apache Casino - G.N. Buffington

Best Fiction book, Historical

• Mama Fela's Girls - Ana Baca

Best Fiction book, Mystery / Suspense

• Quarry - Susan Cummins Miller

Best Fiction book, Romance

• Cory's Feast - Sallie Bingham

Best Fiction book, Science Fiction / Fantasy

• Stonehenge Gate - Jack Williamson

Best Fiction book, Other

• Rahab's Redemption - Cynthia Davis

Best First book (first book published by author)

• Hold My Hand - Glenys Carl

Best Gardening book

• Waterwise Garden Care: your practical guide - Cindy Bellinger

Best Health book (includes Wellness, Nutrition, Beauty)

• Yoga for Women at Midlife & Beyond - Pat Shapiro

Best History book, New Mexico subject

• The peopling of Bandelier : new insights from the archaeology of the Pajarito Plateau - Robert B. Powers

Best History book, Southwest

• Riding for the brand : 150 years of Cowden Ranching : being an account of the adventures and growth in Texas and New Mexico of the Cowden Land & Cattle Company - Michael Pettit

Best Multi-Cultural Subject book (Hispanic, Native American, etc.)

• Memories of Cibola - Abe M. Peña ; foreword by Marc Simmons
• Aqui Se Comienza: a genealogical history of the founding families of La Villa de San Felipe de Alburquerque - compiled by volunteer members of the New Mexico Genealogical Society
• Navajo and Pueblo Earrings, 1850-1945: collected by Robert V. Gallegos - by Robert Bauver, photographs by Chadwick Tanner, foreword by Robert V. Gallegos

Best New Age book

• Divine Rainbow: nature as spiritual teacher - M. Louise Heydt

Best New Mexico book

• New Mexico: A Biographical Dictionary, 1540-1980 - Don Bullis

Best Nonfiction book, Other

• New Mexico Ghost Stories - Antonio R. Garcez

Best of Show book

• The Death at Awahi - Harold Burton Meyers

Best Poetry book (individual or collection)

• The Sound a Raven Makes - Sawnie Morris, Michelle Holland & Catherine Ferguson

Best Political book (includes Social / Current Events)

• Praxis and Ambiguity of the Enemy - Fernando Garavito

Best Reference book

• Tiller's Guide to Indian Country - Veronica Tiller

Best Religious book

• Dejad a los niños a venir a mi = (Suffer the little ones to come unto me): a history of the Parish of Our Lady of Guadalupe in Peralta - John Taylor

Best Self-help book (includes Spirituality / Inspirational)

• Journaling for Women - Cindy Bellinger

Best Travel book (includes guides)

• High plains of northeastern New Mexico: a guide to geology and culture - William R. Muehlberger, Sally J. Muehlberger, L. Greer Price

Best Young Adult book (high school)

• The Green Glass Sea - Ellen Klages

People's Choice Award

• Bless Me, Ultima - Rudolfo Anaya

Books are linked to the library catalog. Unlinked books are not available from the Public Library. You may suggest the purchase of materials at any time.

Customer input is highly valued, and taken into consideration when purchasing decisions are made.