New Mexico - Arizona Book Awards

Best Anthology (individual or collection)

• Out of the Shadows - Martha Shipman Andrews
• Turning Points in Women's Lives - Shirley Patterson & Susan Cho

Best Anthropology / Archaeology book

• Imprisoned Art - Joyce Szabo

 Best Arts book (includes Art, Music, or Photography)

• In the Places of the Spirits - David Grant Noble
• Illuminations - Steven Edwin Counsell

Best Biography (includes Memoirs and Autobiographies)

• Deep Trails in the Old West: a frontier memoir - Frank Clifford
• At Home on the Slopes of Mountains: the story of Peggy Pond Church - Sharon Snyder

Best Business book (includes Career)

• Fifteen Steps to Corporate Feudalism - Dennis Marker

Best Children's Activity book (workbook / craft book / coloring book)

• OsoBear's Christmas in New Mexico - Jill Lane

Best Children's Picture book

• La Llorona: The Crying Woman - Rudolfo Anaya; illustrations by Amy Córdova, translation by Enrique R. Lamadrid

Best Cookbook

• Tasting New Mexico: recipes celebrating one hundred years of distinctive home cooking - Cheryl & Bill Jamison

Best Cover Design, large (larger than 6x9)

• Illuminations - Steven Edwin Counsell

Best Cover Design, small (6x9 or smaller)

• An Apricot Year - Martha Egan

Best Crafts / Hobby / How-to

• My Memoir Workbook - Marcia Rosen

Best Fiction book, Adventure / Drama

• Welcome Back to Pie Town - Lynne Hinton

Best Fiction book, Historical

• True Brit: Beatrice, 1940 - Rosemary Zibart, illustrated by George Lawrence

Best Fiction book, Mystery / Suspense

• Fallen Angels - Alice Duncan
• The American Cafe - Sara Sue Hoklotubbe

Best Fiction book, Romance

• Uncommon Bond - C.L. Gillmore

Best Fiction book, Science Fiction / Fantasy

• Magical Alienation - Kris Neri

Best Fiction book, Other

• An Apricot Year - Martha Egan

Best First book (first book published by author)

• Light, Landscape, and the Creative Quest: early artists of Santa Fe ; with, Walking in the path of the artists : a guide booklet to the artists' homes - Stacia Lewandowski

Best Gardening book

• Dave Dewitt's Chile Trivia : weird, wacky factoids for curious chileheads - Dave DeWitt & Lois Manno (2012)

Best Gay / Lesbian (GLBT) book

• Lucky Shot - Sarah Leamy

Best Health book (includes Wellness, Nutrition, Beauty)

• The Advanced Mediterranean Diet - Steve Parker

Best History book, New Mexico subject

• New Mexico: A Celebration of the Land of Enchantment - Richard Melzer
• Gold-mining boomtown: people of White Oaks, Lincoln County, New Mexico Territory - Roberta Key Haldane

Best History book, Other

• Wild Horses of the West - J. Edward Steiguer

Best Juvenile book (grade school to junior high school)

• Triassic Hall: Building the Triassic Exhibit - Jaenet Guggenheim & Spencer G. Lucas
• May B. : a novel-in-verse - Caroline Starr Rose

Best Multi-Cultural Subject book (Hispanic, Native American, etc.)

• The jar of severed hands: Spanish deportation of Apache prisoners of war, 1770-1810 - Mark Santiago

Best Nature / Environment book

• Wildflowers of the Sandia and Manzano Mountains - Larry Littlefield & Pearl Burns
• New Mexico's Living Landscapes: a roadside view - William W. Dunmire; photography by Christine Bauman and William W. Dunmire

Best New Age book

• Spirit Stones: unraveling the megalithic mysteries of Western Europe's prehistoric monuments - Dianne Ebertt Beeaff

Best New Mexico book

• Triassic Hall: Building the Triassic Exhibit - Jaenet Guggenheim & Spencer G. Lucas

Best New Mexico Centennial book

• Sunshine and shadows in New Mexico's past : the statehood period, 1912-present - edited with an introduction by Richard Melzer
• Las Cruces : a photographic journey : New Mexico centennial, 1912-2012 - edited by the Las Cruces bulletin

Best Nonfiction book, Other

• Design by nature : using universal forms and principles in design - Maggie Macnab
• The case of the Indian trader : Billy Malone and the National Park Service investigation at Hubbell Trading Post - Paul D. Berkowitz

Best of Show

• No Crystal Stair: a documentary novel of the life and work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem bookseller - Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, artwork by R. Gregory Christie

Best Parenting / Family Issues book

• Birthday Tributes - Joy O'Donnell & Dawn Burruel

Best Philosophy book

• A Hidden Light - Zalman Schachter-Shalomi & Natnel Miles-Yepez

Best Poetry book (individual or collection)

• Sting and Nest - Barbara Rockman
• Begging for vultures: new and selected poems, 1994-2009 - Lawrence Welsh

Best Political book (includes Social / Current Events)

• A Woman in Both Houses: my career in New Mexico politics - Pauline Eisenstadt

Best Reference book

• New Mexico Historical Biographies - Don Bullis

Best Religious book

• Golden States of Grace - Rick Nahmias

Best Science book (includes Mathematics)

• The Natural History of Tassel-Eared Squirrels - Sylvester Allred
  DSm Super Vector Space of Refined Labels - Florentin Smarandache

Best Self-help book (includes Spirituality / Inspirational)

• Home Country: drama, dreams and laughter from America's heartland  - Slim Randles

Best Spanish Language book

• El Vidajero - Raquel Rubin-Jimenez

Best Travel book (includes guides)

• A guide to plants of the northern Chihuahuan Desert - Carolyn Dodson, drawings by Robert DeWitt Ivey
• The Rio Grande: : a river guide to the geology and landscapes of northern New Mexico - Paul Bauer

Best Young Adult book (high school)

• No Crystal Stair: a documentary novel of the life and work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem bookseller - Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, artwork by R. Gregory Christie

Best Young Reader book (to grade 3)

• Fairies! : a true story - Shirley Raye Redmond, illustrated by Red Hansen

Howard Bryan Western History Award

• Santa Rita del Cobre - Christopher Huggard & Terrence Humble

Joe Sando Western History Award

• Code Talker - Chester Nez with Judith Schiess Avila

Thomas J. Steele Western History Award

• Among the Cottonwoods: the enduring Rio Abajo villages of Peralta & Los Pinos, New Mexico, before 1940 - Francelle Alexander

Tony Hillerman Award for Best Fiction

• Sweeney - Robert Julyan

Books are linked to the library catalog. Unlinked books are not available from the Public Library. You may suggest the purchase of materials at any time.

Customer input is highly valued, and taken into consideration when purchasing decisions are made.