About Us

Events

Join the Friends, visit our Advisory Board's Support ABC Libraries website, and come to one of our upcoming events.

Donate Books and More

Friends of the Public Library Donation Guidelines

The Public Library Albuquerque and Bernalillo County appreciates the generosity of those who wish to donate books and other materials. Donations of books and audiovisual materials that are in good condition are accepted. Some items will not be accepted in the branches. For example, books with mold, handwriting and/or highlighting, magazines, Reader’s Digest condensed books, encyclopedias or textbooks cannot be accepted. Donors are encouraged to recycle these items.

Donations are reviewed at the branch level and may be selectively added to our collection. Factors considered for addition are content, condition, currency, relevance, collection need and space. Please be aware that there is a financial burden for the library to add donated items to the collection. These costs include: evaluation, data entry, accounting, cataloging, processing and distribution. In some cases these costs may exceed the cost of the item being donated.

Most donations become the property of The Friends of the Public Library and are sold at Book Sales for the benefit of the Public Library Albuquerque and Bernalillo County. Friends’ Book Sales provide vital funds for library programs and services at all 19 branches. The Friends decide if an item will be sold at a Book Sale or recycled if appropriate. Donated materials are not returned.

Author and publisher donations will be vetted by the Collections Development Manager. These items must meet the same standards as all other materials donations. Items not added to the collection will be sent to the Friends. By law the library cannot appraise donations, but will gladly issue receipts for the number of items donated. Monetary gifts are accepted and used to purchase materials as requested by the donor.

Friends of the Public Library Donation Guidelines

The Friends gladly accept donations of gently used books and more based on the general guidelines below. Some items may be added to the Library's collection, but the majority are sold at their monthly used book sales or in the Main Library Bookshop. For more information about the sales, visit the Friends of the Public Library.

What we would like to receive:

• Gently used hardback and paperback books, fiction and non-fiction, for children and adults
• All antique or collectible books regardless of condition, including first editions and autographed copies
• Multi-media (music, books, and movies) including record albums and commercially recorded cassettes, CDs, DVDs

What we do not accept:

• Damaged books (broken spines, missing covers, stained, mildewed, excessively highlighted or underlined)
• Reader's Digest Condensed Books
• Magazines including National Geographic
• Textbooks
• Encyclopedias
• Law Codes or Statues
• Surplused materials from other institutions or school libraries
• Obsolete or outdated items

If you have questions about what we accept, please call the Friends @ 505-768-5167.

Where...When
Donations can be dropped off during regular hours at any branch library except Alamosa, Ernie Pyle, Special Collections, or Westgate.
Library Hours & Map
 
A few things to remember:

• Items left after hours may be damaged or stolen
• Large donations are best accepted at the Main Library
• Staff may not be available to assist you unload
• Call 768-5141 if you have additional questions

Value of your donation
Your donation is tax deductible. Although we are unable to assign a dollar value to your donation, we are happy to give you an "Acknowledgement of Donation" at the time of drop-off.

Make a Monetary Donation

Monetary gifts to the library are placed in special accounts and can be used only for library programs and services. All gifts are tax deductible.

• Unrestricted Gift - Your gift will help the library improve and expand its collections and support new and continuing programs for literacy and life-long learning.
• Restricted Gift - You choose a specific purpose or location for your gift. For example, you may designate the purchase for large-print books or for the Young Adult area at the Main Library.
• Memorial/Honorary Gift - You may choose to remember a special person or celebrate a special occasion with your gift. A bookplate may be added to each new book to recognize the person or event. A letter acknowledging your gift will be sent to the honoree or to the family of the person memorialized.
• Bequest - You may designate the library in your will as a beneficiary for the transfer of assets such as cash, securities, real property, art or other valuable personal property.
• A Major Financial Gift - You choose a project from the Library Director's "Wish List" for a gift in excess of $5000.00. Please contact Dean Smith, Library Director, for details.

Make a Monetary Donation to the Library through a Library Support group.

Monetary gifts may be made to The Friends of the Public Library and The Albuquerque Public Library Foundation.  Donations may be placed in special accounts and can be used only for library programs and services All gifts are tax deductible.

• Unrestricted Gift - Your gift will help the library improve and expand its collections and support new and continuing programs for literacy and life-long learning.
• Restricted Gift - You choose a specific purpose and location for your gift. For example, you may designate the purchase of large-print books for your local branch library or choose children’s titles for Main Library.
• Memorial/Honorary Gift - You may choose to remember a special person or celebrate a special occasion with your gift. A bookplate may be added to each new book to recognize the person or event. A letter acknowledging your gift will be sent to the honoree or to the family of the person memorialized.
• Bequest - You may designate the library in your will as a beneficiary for the transfer of assets such as cash, securities, real property, art or other valuable personal property.
• A Major Financial Gift - You choose a project from the Library Director's "Wish List" for a gift in excess of $5000.00. Please contact Dean Smith, Library Director, for details.

The Friends of the Public Library supports literacy programs and contributes funds for the professional development of library staff.  The Friends, through donations and book sales, provide all of the funding for the Public Library programming, including the Summer Reading Program, Día de los Niños, Tellebration, and Books to the Big Screen.  The Friends accept personal and corporate donations, planned giving, memorials and bequests to encourage and support educational and literacy programs through the library.

The Albuquerque Public Library Foundation supports literacy programs, library outreach to the community, and is dedicated to enriching the programs and services offered by the Public Library Albuquerque and Bernalillo County. The Foundation provides literacy and outreach support with programs for new parents, including Community Baby Showers, Reading Readiness information, and free children’s books.  The Foundation accepts personal and corporate donations, grants, memorials and bequests to restore and revitalize library operations.

Volunteer

Thank you for considering volunteering your time and labor to promote Library services in Albuquerque. The Public Library Albuquerque and Bernalillo County Library has 19 locations throughout the Albuquerque area. Much of the Library’s work is routine, or requires extensive training. Volunteers are selected based upon their qualifications and the needs of the Library at any given time. A criminal background check will be required. There is no cost to the volunteer.

To become a volunteer, go to the One Albuquerque Volunteers website and see what is available!

A sample of volunteer opportunities is listed below. Not all opportunities are available at all times or at all locations. For a full list and descriptions, check the One ABQ Volunteers website.

• Shelf reader
• Shelve books and other materials
• Book repair
• Garden – plant flowers, weed flowerbeds
• Outdoor projects – clean exterior area
• Computers
• Book Club Leader

Donate: Support Your Public Library

Yes! I would like to make a donation to the Public Library of Albuquerque & Bernalillo County.

You make it possible to explore the world and afford it! It is a joy to enter your doors. Gracias! T.L.