LibGuides: Teacher & Educator Resources: Resources for Teachers

Need some good free WiFi access? Click here for locations and passwords.

Read, Wonder, and Learn!
This is a library of resources for kids, families, teachers, and librarians to make sure that reading & learning can happen anywhere this spring. Some of you may be out of school as communities try to prevent the spread of a virus known as COVID-19.

ABQ BioPark - BioPark Connect: African Serval: Learn about African servals and discover the ways that ABQ BioPark zookeepers keep their resident serval healthy and happy. The serval is a small- to medium-sized wild cat native to various regions in Africa. Their cream/yellow bodies are covered in black spots and stripes that help them camouflage in their savanna/grassland homes.

Sandia Mountain Natural History Center - Ecosystems: Producers, Consumers, Decomposers: During this segment, students learn what composes an ecosystem, focusing mainly on the biotic elements: producers, consumers and decomposers. After learning the new terms and understanding the role each one plays within an ecosystem, students will follow the instructor's example, searching for and recording these elements in and around their homes and neighborhoods.

Museum of International Folk Art - Adinkra Banners: Adinkra cloth is a stamped fabric that is made in Ghana, Africa. Symbolic motifs which represent proverbs are carved from calabashes, a type of gourd, and are dipped into a black dye made from the bark of the badie tree. Adinkra artists divide the fabric into squares and then create patterns and repetitive designs using the inked stamps.

Additional resources for teachers and at-home learning can be found here!

Online Resources for Teachers Below: available with your library card

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more. For teacher certification exams, visit the Career Center, and select Prepare for an Occupation Exam.
Within LearnignExpress Library are various Centers for focused learning:
• Adult Core Skills
• Basic Computer Skills
• College Admissions Test Preparation
• College Center
• Career Preparation Center
• Grades 4-8 Educator Resources
• HIgh School Students
• High School Equivalency Center
• Job and Career Accelerator
• Recursos en Español
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive online readers' advisory tool. Using NoveList Plus, you can search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Need help finding good books to read? Use your favorite books and authors to find new adventures! If you can't think of a book, simply choose a topic of interest and explore lists of recommended books. Teachers will find thematic units and other resources for incorporating fiction into the classroom. This resources limits to books for children, kindergarten through eight grade.
Leadership and Management (Professional Collection) This link opens in a new window
Professional Collection is a custom selection of full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24 hour access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development.
The New Mexico State Library provides this Gale resource for all New Mexico residents through funds provided by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). New Mexico residents can freely access this resource from any internet connection 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. These NMSL Gale resources use a technology called Geo-IP authentication. Geo-IP authentication checks the IP address IP address of the device you use to access the resources and compares it to a database of all IPs known to originate within New Mexico. Once your IP address is validated as an IP address within New Mexico, you can access El Portal online resources without being asked for any logon or password. Another access point for these resources is the El Portal database collection of the NMSL.

While Geo IP should work anywhere in NM, there are a few exceptions. If you feel you should have open access and are being asked for logon and password authentication, please contact Cengage Gale Technical Support at: gale.technicalsupport@cengage.com. You can also ask for help from the New Mexico Stat Library by using the "ASK a Librarian" form anytime or by calling 505-476-9702 Monday through Friday from noon until 4:30 pm.