Most* Libraries are now open. Hours have changed. See temporary hours here.
*Ernie Pyle, Special Collections and Alamosa remain closed temporarily.
Holds may be picked up and materials may be checked out and returned.
Computers and seating are temporarily not available. Please make your visit brief.
We encourage everyone who can to stay home and use our online digital resources.

Newbery Award Books

Recent and past Newbery Award winners. The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished American children's book of the previous year.

The Newbery Award

The Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded each year to the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. The purpose of the Newbery Medal is to encourage original creative work in the field of books for children.

The first Newbery Medal was awarded in 1922. The Newbery Medal is an award for writing and goes to the book's author. The medal is named in honor of the 18th century English bookseller John Newbery.

The Newbery Medal is awarded by the Association for Library Service to Children which is a division of the American Library Association. For more information visit the ALSC webpage for the Newbery Medal.


This Year's Winner

The 2020 Newbery Award winner is:

This Year's Honor Books

Four honor books were selected:

Did You Know?

Did You Know?

The Newbery Award was the first major children's book award in the world and was first awarded in 1922.

The Award usually goes to a story, but once it has been awarded to a book of plays, twice it has been awarded to a book of poetry, five times it has been awarded to a biography (the true story of someone's life) and the very first Newbery Award was awarded to a history book.

Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved. Report a problem.