Foundation Center (now known as Candid)

An online database of global grants and grantmakers, available only at the Main (downtown) Library.

Candid FIN logo

Foundation Directory Online FREE

PLEASE NOTE: 

As of May 31, 2022, the remote day pass offering access to Foundation Directory Essential provided through Candid's FIN partners is no longer available.

  • As a Funding Information Network partner, Main Library continues to provide free, unlimited access to Candid’s Foundation Directory Online (Professional) and Grants to Individuals databases through PCs in its 2nd floor computer lab. (A current PLABC library card and 4-digit PIN are required for PC access.)
  • For information on extended access to Foundation Directory Essential, Candid invites nonprofits whose annual revenue or expenses are less than $500,000 to participate in its “Go for the Gold” program.  For details, click here.

 

A number of key Candid resources that remain available for research and learning through off-site access, anytime access, are: 

 

Ask the Online Librarian

Needing to answer questions about nonprofit management, grants, and fundraising?

Get real-time, customized help from our team of expert librarians across Candid's regional offices. Candid librarians thrive on helping to answer your questions about foundations, philanthropy, fundraising, and nonprofits, and can. 

  • Answer most questions about philanthropy, nonprofit management and fundraising
  • Present a variety of resources that will answer your question
  • Help you search Candid databases and resources
  • Point you to your nearest Candid location or partner that you can visit in person

 

Candid Learning

Candid Learning is Candid’s learning community for the social sector. Candid Learning provides easy-to-use, self-service tools and resources to help nonprofits worldwide become more viable grant applicants and build strong, sustainable organizations.  It's Knowledge Base is in FAQ format,  and provides information and resources on grantwriting, finding funders, nonprofit management and best practices.  Browse the list of FAQs, or search for specific topics, at:  https://learning.candid.org/ 

 

 

Welcome to the Foundation Center

Main Library is a

Candid Funding Information Network partner. 

Foundation Center and GuideStar have combined forces to become Candid. For a combined 88 years, Foundation Center and GuideStar each helped change the world by giving people the information they needed to do good. Through research, collaboration, and training, Candid connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to do it. Candid's data tools on nonprofits, foundations, and grants are the most comprehensive in the world. Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces to become Candid, a 501c3 nonprofit organization.

 

Network partners provide local nonprofit communities and grant makers access to Foundation Center funding databases, GuideStar nonprofit profiles, online resources and trainings, and the opportunity to connect with like-minded social sector professionals.

 

As a Funding Information Network Partner, Main Library makes available databases, resources and learning opportunities that can help nonprofits and grant makers to:

  • Research and verify nonprofits
  • Find funding
  • Explore issues
  • Improve your nonprofit
  • Improve your foundation
  • Tell your story
  • Use our data
  • Stay up to date

Foundation Center resources are free of charge, and available to the public.

Candid's online resources -- Foundation  Directory Online (FDO), Grants to Individuals and GuideStar (coming soon!) -- are available for research during open hours at computers in the Genealogy Center - 2nd floor, Main Library.  Note:  A library card in good standing, in combination with a 4-digit PIN, is required for public computer access.  Library cards can be obtained on site, at no charge.

An array of books on nonprofit start-up, management and sustainability are available at branches throughout the library system.  Search the online catalog to discover titles and current locations.  Related journals and articles can be found through the library's eResource and Databases page.

Candid Programs and training sessions on the basics of researching funders and philanthropic foundations via Foundation Center databases are featured several times during the year. 

Candid Funding Information Network partners can help you:
  • Provide resources for starting a non-profit organization
  • Learn the basics of grant-seeking and grant-making
  • Gather information about grant proposals and proposal writing
  • Find detailed profiles for foundations and corporate givers
  • Explore additional topics related to philanthropy, volunteerism and fundraising