- the Public Library
- LibGuides
- Subject Guides - 25/50/25
- From New Town to the Nuclear Age
- 1910-1919: a Self-guided Tour
From New Town to the Nuclear Age
Standard Sources
Standard Sources
Albuquerque by Publication Date: 1982New Mexico’s biggest metro area deserves a book all its own. And what a book it is! Simmons gives a rich, detailed, and colorful history of the area from its beginnings in Old Town, the emergence of New Town, to the rise of the military bases.- Albuquerque : 100 Years in Pictures byPublication Date: 1975In 1975, retired New Mexico Magazine editor George Fitzpatrick and photo illustrator Harvey Caplin collaborated on a beautiful photo review of Albuquerque's history.
- Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA, Resources and Reseach CollectionsPublication Date: 2006Jan Dodson Barnhart's update to Albuquerque Bibliography: a Guide to Published and Archival Materials.
- Albuquerque Progress byPublication Date: 1934-1965Published by Albuquerque National Bank from 1934 through 1964, Albuquerque Progress chronicles Albuquerque's growth and development and includes black and white photos of residential, commercial, and community buildings.
Albuquerque Remembered by Publication Date: 2006An informative and entertaining history of 'The Duke City'. Under the flags of Spain, Mexico, the United States, and for a brief period, the Confederate States, Albuquerque grew from a small farm and ranch village in the northern reaches of New Spain to the thirty-fifth largest city in the United States. Howard Bryan devotes special attention to some of the colourful characters who have populated the city's history, and also includes business and civic leaders who helped shape the city's growth and character. Humorous episodes and anecdotes, as related in early newspapers, are scattered throughout the text to balance some of the dramatic and often violent events that occurred in Albuquerque over the years.
Albuquerque Then and Now by Publication Date: 2006Side-by-side then-and-now photographs showcase landmarks like Kistler's department store (now demolished), the Old Bernalillo County Courthouse (rumored to be haunted), and the beautiful California Mission-style Alvarado Hotel, considered the finest railroad hotel of its time. From Old Town across the tracks to New Town, you'll discover a thriving, modern city filled with remarkable architecture and culture.
Atrisco to Zena Lona: a Snappy Survey of Selected Albuquerque Street Names by Publication Date: 2012A recent update of Judy Nickell's essential reference guide to how Albuquerque streets got their names.- Historic Albuquerque Today: an Overview Survey of Historic Buildings and Districts byPublication Date: 1978A compilation of the work of the Historic Landmark Survey in Albuquerque from 1975-1978. Includes overview histories as well as illustrations and brief descriptions of residential, public, and commercial buildings.
Albuquerque: a city at the end of the world by ISBN: 0826330975Publication Date: 2003-04-18This impassioned book, both a loving description and a critique, defines urban values in a milieu that is rarely recognised as a city. Updated over ten years after its initial publication, it is more relevant than ever to Albuquerque's future. A new chapter describes Albuquerque's recent development, placing it in the context of urban growth in the West.
A Brief Chronology: 1910-1919
|
1910 |
Population 11,020 (New Town only) |
|
1910 |
Steel bridge built over the Rio Grande at Barelas |
|
1910 |
Rosenwald Brothers (established 1878) opens in state's first cast concrete building at 4th and Central |
|
1911 |
Exhibition airplane flight at Territorial Fair marks first time an airplane carries a passenger above 5,000 feet above sea level |
|
1911 |
Clyde Tingley comes to Albuquerque; marries Carrie Wooster |
|
1911 |
Kistler, Collister & Co. opens in place of Ferguson & Collister, 307 W Central [NW] |
|
1912 |
New Mexico becomes the 47th State |
|
1912 |
Railroad Avenue becomes Central Avenue |
|
1913 |
Albuquerque Independent Society (organized 1912) is renamed as NAACP chapter |
|
1914 |
Albuquerque High School moves to Broadway and Central |
|
1915 |
F.W. Woolworth opens at 317-319 W Central [NW] |
|
1916 |
Clyde Tingley elected Alderman for Albuquerque's Second Ward |
|
1916 |
City of Albuquerque purchases water utility |
|
1916 |
J.C. Penney opens at 410-412 W Central [SW] |
|
1917 |
Form of city government changes from Mayor and Board of Aldermen to City Manager and City Commission |
|
1917 |
Outbreak of World War I turns UNM campus into a training camp for New Mexico National Guard Battery A |
|
1917 |
Occidental Life Insurance building completed at 305 W Gold [SW] |
|
1917 |
Albuquerque is first community in U.S. to hire female streetcar conductors, known as "motorettes" |
|
1917 |
Albuquerque Gas & Electric Company incorporates |
|
1918 |
Flu epidemic leads to closure of "picture shows, dance halls, schools, churches and all other places where gatherings are not absolutely necessary." |
|
1919-1920 |
Surfacing of U.S. Highway 85 |
Early Albuquerque Newspapers
Early Albuquerque Newspapers
The Library of Congress' Chronicling America website has fully searchable digitized newspapers published in Albuquerque before 1923. These papers include:
Albuquerque Evening Herald, 1911-1914
Albuquerque Weekly Citizen, 1891-19??
The Evening Herald, 1914-1922
- Chronicling AmericaDigitized historic newspapers published before 1923.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition is an online database that provides searchable access to New Mexico newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The collection contains over 128 different newspapers from across New Mexico. The archives cover New Mexico history from 1847-2019 and allow you to further understand an ancestor's place within their local community to research your genealogy. Start your New Mexico ancestry search now and discover more about your ancestor's stories!
Recommended Resources
1910-1919
- Albuquerque and Bernalillo CountyPublication Date: circa 1916Issued by the Albuquerque and Bernalillo County Chamber of Commerce and Commercial Club Publicity Department. Arranged by R.W. Wiley. Photos by courtesy W.R. Walton.
- Albuquerque and the City Manager Plan, 1917-1948 byPublication Date: 1951A description, history, and critique of Albuquerque's City Manager / City Commission structure.
- Early Albuquerque: a Photographic History, 1870-1918 byA joint project of the Albuquerque Journal and the Albuquerque Museum and a rich resource for bringing Albuquerque's past to life.
- For Me, the Sun : the Autobiography of Roy A. Stamm, an Early Albuquerque Business Leader byPublication Date: 1999"Roy Stamm, entrepreneur, prominent Albuquerque businessman..., sportsman, writer, potato farmer, dedicated family man, patriot, scholar, athlete, balloon, aviation and bicycle enthusiast, newspaper promoter, camp cook for construction crews, horseman, and director of the New Mexico Territorial Fair, has given us a picture of life in Albuquerque 1882 to 1957." -- introduction by Jim and Ann Carson
