- the Public Library
- LibGuides
- Subject Guides - 25/50/25
- From New Town to the Nuclear Age
- 1890-1899: a Self-guided Tour
From New Town to the Nuclear Age
A brief chronology of the decade with recommended resources and some links to photos.
Standard Sources
Standard Sources
Albuquerque by Publication Date: 1982New Mexico’s biggest metro area deserves a book all its own. And what a book it is! Simmons gives a rich, detailed, and colorful history of the area from its beginnings in Old Town, the emergence of New Town, to the rise of the military bases.- Albuquerque : 100 Years in Pictures byPublication Date: 1975In 1975, retired New Mexico Magazine editor George Fitzpatrick and photo illustrator Harvey Caplin collaborated on a beautiful photo review of Albuquerque's history.
- Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA, Resources and Reseach CollectionsPublication Date: 2006Jan Dodson Barnhart's update to Albuquerque Bibliography: a Guide to Published and Archival Materials.
- Albuquerque Progress byPublication Date: 1934-1965Published by Albuquerque National Bank from 1934 through 1964, Albuquerque Progress chronicles Albuquerque's growth and development and includes black and white photos of residential, commercial, and community buildings.
Albuquerque Remembered by Publication Date: 2006An informative and entertaining history of 'The Duke City'. Under the flags of Spain, Mexico, the United States, and for a brief period, the Confederate States, Albuquerque grew from a small farm and ranch village in the northern reaches of New Spain to the thirty-fifth largest city in the United States. Howard Bryan devotes special attention to some of the colourful characters who have populated the city's history, and also includes business and civic leaders who helped shape the city's growth and character. Humorous episodes and anecdotes, as related in early newspapers, are scattered throughout the text to balance some of the dramatic and often violent events that occurred in Albuquerque over the years.
Albuquerque Then and Now by Publication Date: 2006Side-by-side then-and-now photographs showcase landmarks like Kistler's department store (now demolished), the Old Bernalillo County Courthouse (rumored to be haunted), and the beautiful California Mission-style Alvarado Hotel, considered the finest railroad hotel of its time. From Old Town across the tracks to New Town, you'll discover a thriving, modern city filled with remarkable architecture and culture.
Atrisco to Zena Lona: a Snappy Survey of Selected Albuquerque Street Names by Publication Date: 2012A recent update of Judy Nickell's essential reference guide to how Albuquerque streets got their names.- Historic Albuquerque Today: an Overview Survey of Historic Buildings and Districts byPublication Date: 1978A compilation of the work of the Historic Landmark Survey in Albuquerque from 1975-1978. Includes overview histories as well as illustrations and brief descriptions of residential, public, and commercial buildings.
Albuquerque: a city at the end of the world by ISBN: 0826330975Publication Date: 2003-04-18This impassioned book, both a loving description and a critique, defines urban values in a milieu that is rarely recognised as a city. Updated over ten years after its initial publication, it is more relevant than ever to Albuquerque's future. A new chapter describes Albuquerque's recent development, placing it in the context of urban growth in the West.
A Brief Chronology: 1890-1899
|
1890 |
Population 3,785 (New Town only) |
|
1890 |
Albuquerque Academy (private high school for boys) operating out of Perkins Hall |
|
1891 |
New Town votes to reincorporate as a city to be governed by a mayor and board of aldermen |
|
1891 |
First Public Library opens at 112 Gold S.W.; moves into Commercial Club in 1892 |
|
1891 |
Albuquerque Bridge (wooden toll bridge across the Rio Grande established in 1865) washes away in flood |
|
1891 |
Albuquerque Academy closes; Albuquerque High School opens in Perkins Hall |
|
1892 |
University of New Mexico opens in its present location |
|
1892 |
African Methodist Episcopal congregation builds its first permanent church at 311 W Coal Avenue |
|
1892 |
Commercial Club built at 4th and Gold |
|
1896 |
H.B. Fergusson, son-in-law of Franz Huning and father of Erna Fergusson, elected Territorial Representative for New Mexico |
|
1897 |
Armijo House at 3rd and Railroad [Central Avenue] destroyed by fire |
|
1897 |
R.L. Dodson owns first automobile in Albuquerque |
|
1898 |
Grant Opera House at 3rd and Railroad [Central Avenue] destroyed by fire |
Early Albuquerque Newspapers
Early Albuquerque Newspapers
The Library of Congress' Chronicling America website has fully searchable digitized newspapers published in Albuquerque before 1923. These papers include:
Albuquerque Daily Citizen, 1895-1903
Albuquerque Weekly Citizen, 1891-19??
- Chronicling AmericaDigitized historic newspapers published before 1923.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition is an online database that provides searchable access to New Mexico newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The collection contains over 128 different newspapers from across New Mexico. The archives cover New Mexico history from 1847-2019 and allow you to further understand an ancestor's place within their local community to research your genealogy. Start your New Mexico ancestry search now and discover more about your ancestor's stories!
Recommended Resources
1890-1899
- Albuquerque byPublication Date: 1947Erna Fergusson, granddaughter of Franz Huning, tour guide, author, and library advocate, presents vignettes from Albuquerque's history, circa 1947. A very personal account of Old Town, New Town, and the social and cultural boundaries between.
Albuquerque's Huning Castle Neighborhood by Publication Date: 2013Huning's 700-acre estate, home to the once-legendary but now-demolished Castle Huning, fronted Albuquerque's main thoroughfare midway between Old Town and the bustling new downtown one mile east. It was a front-row seat to the city's development after the flood-prone Rio Grande was stabilized. Huning's former estate is now home to fine, diverse homes near the Albuquerque Country Club, as well as historic Route 66, Tingley Beach, the zoo, the Little Theatre, and a Christmas Eve luminaria tradition.- A Boy's Albuquerque, 1898-1912 byPublication Date: 1980Charmingly illustrated recollections of an era of rapid change in Albuquerque.
- Do You Remember? : a Series of Articles on Old Albuquerque, Printed in the Albuquerque "Herald", 1922-1923 byPublication Date: 2002The index by Sabatini and Gagne turns these transcriptions of Fergusson's newspaper columns into a great research tool for Albuquerque historians.
- Early Albuquerque: a Photographic History, 1870-1918 byA joint project of the Albuquerque Journal and the Albuquerque Museum and a rich resource for bringing Albuquerque's past to life.
- Huning's Highland Addition Neighborhood Walking Tour & Armchair Guide byPublication Date: 1996Everything you need to conduct a self-guided tour of one of New Town's oldest and most fascinating neighborhoods.
- New Town and the Railroad Boom Years 1880-1912: a Selection of Three "Booster Booklets" from the Era byPublication Date: 1980Contains three booklets: The editor's run in New Mexico and Colorado (1882), Albuquerque illustrated (1892), and Albuquerque (1908). These are typical of a number of "booster booklets" "produced between 1891 and 1912 [by the Commercial Club], which painted an idealistic portrait of Albuquerque's climate and investment opportunities and were sent to newspapers and individuals by Club secretaries ...."--Introductory remarks, inside front lid of case.
- Pueblo on the Mesa, the First Fifty Years at the University of New Mexico byPublication Date: 1939Published to celebrate the University's golden anniversary. Reviews UNM's history from 1889 to 1939.
