Advisory Board

A Library Advisory Board


The Library Advisory Board is established as a liaison between the community and its government for the following purposes:

  • To keep itself informed of library needs and serve as a forum for discussion.
  • To recommend to the Mayor and the County Commissioners policies for overall development to include plans for additional library facilities, and ways and means of financing improvements.
  • To encourage the greatest use of library facilities and programs.

Support ABC logo

One goal of the Library Advisory Board is to educate the citizens of Bernalillo County about the needs of the Library and how the Library is supported by the City, County and State.

To help meet that goal they have created the Support ABC Libraries website.

Meet the Library Advisory Board Members

The Library Advisory Board consists of 11 members appointed by the Mayor and City Council, and 4 members who are appointed by the County Commission.

View the membership of the Library Advisory Board.


Next Library Advisory Board meeting


Fiscal Year 2023 proposed meeting dates:

January 5, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. on Zoom

April 6, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. at the Juan Tabo Library

June 1, 2023


Contact:    Library Administration Office, 501 Copper Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102,   (505) 768-5170



Fiscal Year 2023 meeting dates:

September 8, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

     at International District Library

November 3, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

     at Taylor Ranch Library

January 5, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. on Zoom:

April 6, 2023 at 5:30 p.m.

     at Juan Tabo Library

June 1, 2023

Governing Documents

Governing Documents

The Unified Library Advisory Board is created by City ordinance and a Joint Powers Agreement with Bernalillo County.

Advisory Board Members

Library Advisory Board Membership

All Library Advisory Board positions must be residents of Bernalillo County.

The 9 Board members who are representing City Council Districts and the 2 City At Large positions must all be residents of the City of Albuquerque to be appointed (11 in total). The Council District positions must be residents of that District when appointed.

The 4 County Board positions, all of these are "At Large", must be residents of Bernalillo County and, may also be, residents of the City of Albuquerque. 

A Map of Albuquerque City Council Districts may be found here.

Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved. Report a problem.