In the interest of preserving public health and limiting the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus), all of our Public Libraries are CLOSED Saturday, March 14 through Wednesday, April 15. The public is encouraged to take advantage of all the digital resources the Public Library offers online.
The due date for all items that are due between Saturday March 14 and Wednesday April 15 has been extended to Wednesday April 22.
Holds that are 'Ready for Pickup' will continue to be held for you through the first week after we reopen.
Holds that are 'In Transit' for you will be processed after we reopen.

Any library card that was due for a scheduled update during this period has been updated through May 1.
Assistance is available by phone during the closure Monday through Friday 10:00AM to 4:00 PM  For general information please call (505) 768-5141.  If you need assistance with your account or a library card please call (505) 768-5170.

Land of Enchantment Book Awards

Land of Enchantment Book Awards

The Land of Enchantment Book Award is designed to encourage the youth of New Mexico to read outstanding books of literary quality. A committee sponsored by the New Mexico Library Association, and the New Mexico Council of the International Reading Association selects four lists of books– Roadrunners (Grades K-3), Coyotes ( Grades 3-5), Lizards (Grades 6-8) and Black Bears (Grades 9-12). In April, New Mexico youth who have read at least three books from one of these lists vote on their favorite. For more information, visit the Land of Enchantment Book Award website.


2019 winners have been announced!

Did You Know?

Did you know?

The first Land of Enchantment Award was given in 1981.  The first winner was Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary.

For the first 19 years, there was only one age category.  2000 was the first year with two awards, one in the Children's category and one in the newly created Young Adult category.

In 2011 a third category was added, the Picture Book category.

In 2017 the categories were renamed and a fourth category was added. The Categories are: Roadrunner (Kindergarten - 3rd grade), Coyote (3 - 5th grade), Lizard (6th - 8th grade), and Black Bear (9th - 12th grade).

Printable Reading List

Here's a printable list of all the reading lists complete with call numbers.

Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved. Report a problem.