Most* Libraries are now open. Hours have changed. See temporary hours here. *Ernie Pyle, Special Collections and Alamosa remain closed temporarily. Holds may be picked up and materials may be checked out and returned. Computers and seating are temporarily not available. Please make your visit brief. We encourage everyone who can to stay home and use our online digital resources.
Raise goats and reap the rewards. Raising Goats For Dummies provides you with an introduction to all aspects of owning, caring for, and the day-to-day benefits of raising goats. Raising Goats For Dummies is your How-to guide for: Breaking down the complicated process of choosing and purchasing the right goat breed to meet your needs and getting facilities for your goat set up. Providing in-depth information on proper grooming, handling, feeding, and milking Covering the basics of goat health and nutrition Offering tips and advice for using your goat to produce milk, meat, fiber, and more Understand what makes these useful and delightful creatures so popular and gain the knowledge and skills to properly care for and utilize their many offerings.
Jerry Belanger's practical guidance has been indispensible to new and prospective goat owners for over thirteen years. This newly revised and updated edition of Raising Milk Goats the Modern Way contains up-to-the-minute information about what's happening in the goat world today. It includes: * more information about diseases and medication * new breed information * new barn plans * recipes for goat milk products and chevon * a helpful glossary and source list * more information on how milk is made, and how to maximize quality and quantity And of course, the book still provides clear, practical instructions for breeding, kidding, feeding, milking, housing, and all the basics of goat care. The author is a trusted friend when it comes to raising goats. His reassuring, often humorous style makes reading about goats almost as much fun as raising them.
This is the complete beginner's guide to raising goats at home. Whether you want to raise goats for their milk and fiber or keep them as pets or companion animals, this book covers all the essentials. You'll learn how to choose the right goats for your needs and space, house and feed them, keep them healthy, and train them to do simple tricks, pull and drive carts, and serve as pack goats. You'll also learn how to milk, shear, breed, raise newborn kids, and more. The Backyard Goat makes it easy to enjoy the benefits of owning goats, with no experience necessary.
Goat meat production is the fastest growing segment of U.S. agriculture, and an estimated 70 percent of all meat consumed globally is from goats. Storey's Guide to Raising Meat Goats is the essential reference on raising, caring for, and marketing meat goats. This updated edition gives caprine producers the vital information they need to start a meat-goat business or expand their current operation.
With minimal space and housing needs, dairy goats are a practical choice for the small or backyard dairy farmer. Dairy goats require a smaller investment than Cows and produce easily digested milk that is much in demand for making yogurt, cheese, and other dairy products. The revised and updated fourth edition includes: Updated information on disease diagnosis and treatment Tips on choosing pygmy breeds Expanded coverage of breeding, kidding, and raising kids More information on milking, dairying, and cheesemaking Expanded resource section "This book will give answers and help novice goat owners get started. It can also be used by established goat owners wanting a reference in an easy-to-read format." -- John D. Howland, American Goat Society, Inc.
Click through to search the Library catalog for titles on: