Center for the Book

The Center for the Book is located in the Special Collections library. The Center teaches about the history of writing and books.

Hours

Special Collections Library

423 Central Avenue NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
505-848-1376
specialcollections@cabq.gov


Hours

SUN Closed
MON Closed
TUE 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
WED 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
THU 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
FRI 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
SAT 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Book Image

About Center for the Book

About The Center for the Book

Wooden type tray

The Center for the Book is located in the Special Collections Library, a branch of the Public Library of Albuquerque and Bernalillo County.

Here you can learn about the history of the written and printed word from hieroglyphics to those ancient artifacts we call typewriters. You can experience books in all their varieties, from antique editions to pop-up and miniature books.

The adjoining Press Room contains two replica and three antique presses, in addition to many examples of typeset and tools used in printing.

Visiting Center for the Book

We are open to class visits and love to share the Library with our community. A class visit is comprised of a lecture and hands-on activities, including decorating an illuminated letter, creating your name in Braille, using a printing press, and much more!  We will design the visit to your students’ interests.

This no-cost experience would be of most interest to middle school students, but we have hosted first graders up to adults.

The Center for the Book and the Press Room are available to explore by individuals most of the Special Collections Library’s open hours. Please call to confirm before your visit.

Also consider attending our Monthly Tour, on the 4th Saturday of each month, to learn more about this unique space’s history.

Center for the Book Images

To Schedule a Field Trip

To Schedule a Field Trip 

Class visits may be scheduled Tuesdays through Thursdays. Please schedule your class visit two weeks in advance.  The complete experience takes approximately two hours, excluding travel time.

The Thomason Transportation Program provides free round-trip transportation to Title I schools for class visits to public libraries.

To schedule a class visit, please email Special Collections Library or call 505-848-1376.

 

Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved. Report a problem.