The Special Collections Library of the Public Library houses research collections on Albuquerque history and New Mexico history and culture. The 1925 Pueblo/Spanish Revival-style building is a registered Albuquerque landmark in the historic Huning Highlands neighborhood. The research collections are available for in house use only.
Surface Street Directions: During Albuquerque Rapid Transit construction, Edith Blvd is closed at Central to north and southbound travelers. Westbound travelers may take Central Avenue to Edith Blvd NE. Eastbound travelers may take Lomas Blvd or Martin Luther King Jr. Dr to Edith Blvd.
Parking During Albuquerque Rapid Transit construction metered parking is free for 2 hours. All neighborhood permit only parking remains in force. Library customers are advised to pay close attention to parking signs and curb markings.
Route #66 Central Ave. Plan your trip here.
Rapid Ride 766/Red Line and 777/Green Line buses stop near Special Collections Library by request.
Take Interstate 25 to the Martin Luther King Jr Drive exit. Go west on MLK towards downtown. The first traffic signal west of the Albuquerque Regional Medical Center (formerly St Joseph's Hospital) is Edith Blvd. Turn left onto Edith and go south two blocks.
Surface Street Directions:
Take Central Avenue to Edith Blvd NE. There is a traffic signal at the intersection.
Parking along the west side of Edith is metered. Meters can be paid with coins or credit cards. The fee is $1.00 per hour, with a four-hour limit, enforced from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday. There is no charge for vehicles with disability permits. The appropriate placard must be displayed. Free parking is available for green vehicles registered with the City of Albuquerque's Parking Registration.
On-street parking in the neighborhood is by permit only between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. seven days a week. Library customers are advised to pay close attention to parking signs and curb markings.
The Special Collections Library has two meeting rooms. Botts Hall will hold a maximum of 100 people and Center for the Book will hold a maximum of 50 people. To schedule the rooms in advance, please stop by the information desk or call 848-1376. Policy, rules and required forms for using the meeting room may be found at Meeting and Study Rooms as well as a list of meeting rooms at other branches.
To view availability online, see our online booking form.
The Special Collections Library has a study room (New Mexicana Room) that will hold a maximum of fifteen people. The study rooms may used for no more than two hours per person/group a day. Check in at the information desk with your library card to gain access to the study rooms.
6 Public Computers (Windows 7 with Microsoft Office 2013 and Internet access)
Free Wireless Internet Access
Printing Services - 15¢ per page
USB Thumb Drive - $4.40 each
Faxing Services - $1.00 per 5 pages (local and toll free numbers only)
Copy Machine - 20¢ per page
Meeting & Study Rooms Available for Public Reservation
The Center for the Book is located in the Special Collections Library, part of the Public Library. Volunteer docents lead field trips to teach about the history of writing and books.
Special Collections Speakers Series adults
Making Change is an ongoing series about the businesses, people, and projects that formed Albuquerque as we know it today. Presented at Special Collections by the Public Library, Historic Albuquerque, Inc., and Oasis Albuquerque.
Special Collections Library Tour all ages
Take a tour of Albuquerque's oldest public library. The Special Collections Library houses research collections on Albuquerque history and New Mexico history and culture. The 1925 Pueblo/Spanish Revival-style building is a registered Albuquerque landmark in the historic Huning Highlands neighborhood. Weekly tours are Thursdays at 12:00 p.m.. You are also welcome to call us at 505-848-1376 or to email us to schedule a tour if the regularly scheduled tour is not convenient.
Gizmo Garage adults
Want to read eBooks or listen to eAudiobooks, but don't know where to start? Call us at 505-848-1376 or email us to schedule a Gizmo Garage session to learn more about downloading eContent from the Public Library site -- and for hands-on experience with the Kindle, Nook, Sony eReader, Samsung Galaxy Tab and more.
Our research collections include everything from popular treatments of ghosts and aliens to scholarly publications on history, anthropology, archaeology, religion, language and art in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and the greater southwest.
Although the primary focus is on the greater Albuquerque and Bernalillo County area, excellent resources for researching the pre-Entrada, Spanish Colonial, Mexican, Territorial, and Statehood eras of New Mexico and the greater southwest are readily available.
Albuquerque Historical Postcard Collection at the Special Collections Library includes more than 2,000 postcards published throughout the 20th Century. Assembled from donations received over many years, it is organized into geographical and subject categories.
Explore the history of the written word at the Center for the Book. Visitors are welcome to visit and explore independently, and staff can assist with scheduling a tour or a field trip.